It’s 4 a.m. and I’ve lost my sense of time

Originally posted in Spanish on our site Letras & Poesía

It’s four o’clock in the morning. I have lost my sense of time, I don’t know how many hours I’ve already spent here sitting on the floor, writing in my computer, but all I know is I’ve never felt like this before. Tranquility reigns all around me.

Right now, there are only solitude and darkness in me. I like how it feels, it isn’t bad at all, because this is the beginning of somebody. Yes, the beginning of somebody, not sure if yours or mine. But having a beginning is a forward move in itself. I’m just tired of always making ends close.

I don’t feel lonely in spite of solitude, we don’t need to be alone to feel like this. How many times have I felt lonely with you by my side? How many times have you felt lonely with me by your side? Just that.

I like this darkness in me, it’s not black, it’s dark blue. And it looks even nicer when all you can see is a timid star lighting up the floor where I find myself in this strange night. This same star could be myself, lighting up your world. Or who knows who that star might be? Maybe it’s just somebody else looking for their road at the same time as me.

I want you to know that it’s not bad to feel lonely and dark, sometimes that’s the key to finding your light. Because not everything is black or white, it’s just that every one sees colors in a different way and, no matter what you see as dark, it’s the bluest sky I’ve ever seen in my whole life. Thus, don’t be afraid of the color you wake up with, no matter if you see life in green, pink or yellow, the only thing you have to fear is yourself.

By Edelsteine (Spain)

Translation: Luca Arnaldo

Read original in Spanish —> Son las cuatro de la mañana y he perdido la noción del tiempo

Leave a Reply

